Plaza de San Francisco de Asís
Founded on June 2, 1628, Plaza de San Francisco de Asís is one of Havana's oldest squares, facing Havana harbor. It is named after the adjacent Convento de San Francisco de Asís, a Franciscan convent built between 1575 and 1591 with a 42-meter tall tower. The square is known for its uneven cobblestones and the white-marble Fuente de los Leones fountain, carved by Italian sculptor Giuseppe Gaggini in 1836. Notable buildings include the domed Lonja del Comercio (1909) and the Customs House (1914). The adjacent basilica is renowned for its excellent acoustics and is used for concerts.